Posts tagged with "magazines"

Elle Decoration Canada illustration by Heather Skovlund for 360 Magazine

Elle Decoration Canada

ELLE Decoration Canada: Discover the first exciting issue from KO Média

KO Média is proud to unveil the inaugural issue of ELLE Decoration Canada.
 
The world leader in interior design publishing, ELLE Decoration’s most recent addition showcases inspiring interiors, avant-garde trends, design hotspots and pro tips from creators, both Canadian and international – including a cover story about the ultra-luxurious penthouse of a Montreal fashion entrepreneur, whose Little Italy triplex is bringing nature inside. Inspired by the Italian renaissance – think loggias and colonnades – the hidden oasis includes a 200-square-foot inner courtyard featuring burnt wood, tons of plants and a Japanese bath.
 
In another lush feature, a Manhattan-based, Canada-born designer offers a fresh take on old-school luxury with a redesign of an urban glass home, complete with rooftop English garden. “Walls provide a certain privacy, just like a garden,” says Garrow Kedigian, whose clients include members of the royal family and the Burj Khalifa in Dubai.
 
In decor trends, green is taking centre stage, so the debut edition features absinthe, teal and fern designs for your outdoor oasis; gardening tips and “Perfection” fennel; ultra-stylish transportable grills for everything from Neopolitan-style pizza to s’mores; and even handmade Vietnamese bowls made with food-grade varnishes and cashew apple resin.
 
Looking back while looking forward, it also covers the history of cane and rattan furniture as well as modern interpretations worth getting excited about, from panel lighting to cocoon loungers.
 
Like its 26 international siblings with their more than 10 million total readers, the Canadian edition of ELLE Decoration extends beyond the home, in this case digging into the story of a top Canadian chef who goes from painstakingly assembling culinary art on handcrafted ceramic plates to ladling it into takeout containers in a story that covers everything from restaurant design to the ethics of dinnerware).
 
Plus, moon-inspired decor; rebellious interpretations of everyday objects; and getting cozy with Danish hygge via simplicity, functionality… and plenty of light.
 
The edition even features a new Champagne bottle design, just in time to celebrate the magazine’s launch!
 
The first issue of ELLE Decoration Canada will hit stands on April 19th, 2021.   

KO Média also publishes ELLE Canada, ELLE Décoration QuébecELLE QuébecMagazine VÉROdi Stasio, and K pour Katrine magazines.

Letita Wright for ELLE Canada's winter issue as announced by 360 MAGAZINE.

KO Média Releases Winter Issue of ELLE Canada

KO Média is delighted to reveal the Winter issue of ELLE Canada featuring British actor Letitia Wright of Black Panther fame. The outspoken creative has turned her focus to producing recently in order to helpbetter representation in the entertainment industry.

“I’m happy to be a light in the world,” she says in the candid feature. “That’s my spirit. I can’t be anything else. And if I am, then something’s wrong.”

The issue hits newsstands shortly after Vividata’s Fall 2020 survey results confirmed that ELLE Canada has seen a 30% increase in multiplatform readership, now reaching more than 2.4 million readers every month – 215,000 more than its largest competitor. (This includes an exciting digital readership increase of 85%)

The Winter issue is packed with the varied and thoughtful features that will satisfy ELLE Canada’s loyal readership: prominent women in public office point to the systemic sexism in Canada’s political system; a seasoned fashion journalist questions whether crisis can be a catalyst to create a personal style; actor Viola Davis opens up about her journey to self-acceptance in an intimate conversation.

The issue also answers some of the questions on the minds of ELLE Canada’s readers: What can you gift your friends during this “unprecedented” holiday season? (Spoiler alert: the super stylist gift guide has loads of comforting treats you’ll also covet for yourself.) How can we let go of that post-lockdown shame? Why does a simple swipe of lipstick provide a sense of normalcy during turbulent times?

Plus: The best and boldest beauty looks, breaking the boundaries between day and night dressing and the season’s hottest handbags.

The Winter issue of ELLE Canada will hit stands on Monday, November 16th.

Karine Vanasse, Elle Magazine, Canada, 360 MAGAZINE , KO Média

KO MÉDIA MAGAZINES

Following the release of the results from the most recent Vividata study, KO Média is proud to announce that its brand readership has grown significantly over the past year.

VÉRO, the best-selling Quebec women’s magazine on newsstands, saw its readership increase by 11%, reaching nearly 560,000 passionate readers, across all platforms per month. The province’s favourite brand is also experiencing a meteoric increase of 52% on its digital platforms.

ELLE Quebec and ELLE Canada, two new KO family brands who joined last spring, have also seen their readership grow: The number of readers on all platforms combined is up 9%, and up by 17% for ELLE Canada. This makes ELLE the fashion and beauty brand that reaches the largest number of followers in the country, with more than 2.4 million readers per month from coast to coast. 

“I am very proud to see that all the effort and love we have put into these strong brands is also reflected in the numbers. When you make good content, your readers respond.” – Sophie Banford, Executive Director and Editor of KO Média.

Source: Vividata Fall 2019 Study, Canada Total, 18+ /Variations vs Vividata Fall 2018 Study

About the Group KO

The Group KO is made up of Productions KOTV, Productions KO Scène, KO 24, KO Média and KO Éditions. Run by the screenwriter-humourist-comedian-producer Louis Morissette, the group is motivated by the desire to tell stories that captivate the public, and to do so by mastering each creative aspect that goes into doing that. Whether it’s television shows, performances, films or magazines, the mission of the group is very simple: conquer the world, and then entertain them. In an industry full of possibilities, the KO Group sees opportunities and takes them.

RE-ENGINEERING HUMANITY

Everyday new warnings emerge about artificial intelligence rebelling against us. All the while, a more immediate dilemma flies under the radar. Have forces been unleashed that are thrusting humanity down an ill-advised path, one that’s increasingly making us behave like simple machines?

Have a look at the book’s website.

About the Authors

Brett Frischmann is The Charles Widger Endowed University Professor in Law, Business and Economics at Villanova University. He is also an affiliated scholar of the Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School, and a trustee for the Nexa Center for Internet & Society, Politecnico di Torino. He has published foundational books on the relationships between infrastructural resources, governance, commons, and spillovers.

Evan Selinger is Professor of Philosophy at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where he is also the Head of Research Communications, Community, and Ethics at the Center for Media, Arts, Games, Interaction, and Creativity. A Senior Fellow at the Future of Privacy Forum, his primary research is on the ethical and privacy dimensions of emerging technology. Selinger is a prolific writer and his next anthology is The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Privacy, co- edited with JulesPolontesky and OmerTene (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming 2018). A strong advocate of public philosophy, he regularly writes for magazines, newspapers, and blogs, including The Guardian, The Atlantic, Slate, and Wired.

Advance Praise Re-Engineering Humanity

Frischmann and Selinger provide a thoroughgoing and balanced examination of the tradeoffs inherent in offloading tasks and decisions to computers. By illuminating these often intricate and hidden tradeoffs, and providing a practical framework for assessing and negotiating them, the authors give us the power to make wiser choices.

Nicolas Carr, author of The Glass Cage: How Our Computers Are Changing Us, from the Foreword

Re-Engineering Humanity brings a pragmatic if somewhat dystopic perspective to the technological phenomena of our age. Humans are learning machines and we learn from our experiences. This book made me ask myself whether the experiences we are providing to our societies are in fact beneficial in the long run.

Vint Cerf, Co-Inventor of the Internet

Frischmann and Selinger deftly and convincingly show why we should be less scared of robots than of becoming more robotic, ourselves. This book will convince you why it’s so important we embed technologies with human values before they embed us with their own. Douglas Rushkoff, author of Present Shock, Program or Be Programmed, and Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus.

Everybody is suddenly worried about technology. Will social media be the end of democracy? Is automation going to eliminate jobs? Will artificial intelligence make people obsolete? Brett Frischmann and Evan Selinger boldly propose that the problem isn’t the rise of ‘smart’ machines but the dumbing down of humanity. This refreshingly philosophical book asks what’s lost when we outsource our decision-making to algorithmic systems we don’t own and barely understand. Better yet, it proposes conceptual and practical ways to reclaim our autonomy and dignity in the face of new forms of computational control.

Astra Taylor, author of The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Control in the Digital Age

A magnificent achievement. Writing in the tradition of Neil Postman, Jacque Ellul and Marshall McLuhan, this book is the decade’s deepest and most powerful portrayal of the challenges to freedom created by our full embrace of comprehensive techno-social engineering. A rewarding and stimulating book that merits repeated readings and may also cause you to reconsider how you live life.

Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and author of The Attention Merchants

About Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University’s mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence. Playing a leading role in today’s global marketplace, we have over 50 offices around the globe, and we distribute our products to nearly every country in the world. We publish titles written by authors in over 100 different countries.