June 15, 2016 — Hollywood, CA — Unstoppable singer-songwriter Vera Blue will release her debut album, Perennial, on Friday, July 21 [Capitol Records/Deep Well Records]. Preorder will be available Friday, June 23. Today she also shares the new video for her current single “Mended“: WATCH HERE.
An intensely personal album, Perennial traces the circular pathways between love and loss across its 12 tracks. The album is arranged into three chapters, which chronologically trace the development of Vera Blue; from her very first week writing, raw after the breakdown of a relationship, towards a place of renewed strength and vivacity. Included on the album is first single “Private,” with currently over 2.2 million streams worldwide, and “Mended.” The new album introduces a fully-formed Vera Blue, seamlessly synthesizing her folk past with a bold, electronic pop future.
“‘Perennial’ is a term for plants that come back year after year, and I like to relate that to memory, feelings and emotions,” says Vera Blue. “It’s what the record is all about; relationships can be very cyclical, or never-ending, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s just part of life.”
Directed by one of Australia’s most exciting emerging artists Cloudy Rhodes, the powerful “Mended” video is a celebration of love and womanhood. Cloudy explains, “I wanted to make a film where we witness the triumph of a young woman rising-up to the experience of love. I wanted Vera to be the protagonist of the film who falls from the night sky, out of the darkness into the light – her falling is a metaphorical representation of ‘falling in love.’ ‘Mended‘ to me is all as about the female experience and that’s what I tried to convey through the visuals in this clip.”
Perennial track listing:
1.       First Week
2.       Give In
3.       Regular Touch
4.       We Used To
5.       Said Goodbye To Your Mother
6.       Private
7.       Lady Powers
8.       Magazine
9.       Fools
10.   Overachiever
11.   Pedestal/Cover Me
12.   Mended
13.   Settle *
14.   Hold *
*Digital version only